AOL 24 1994

Yesterday I was watching something- I don’t remember what- but I saw at the end of the title “AOL/Time Warner” and thought to myself “What a horrible and horribly overpriced acquisition. And why is Time Warner continuing to mar their brand by appending AOL to it?” I’m sure that AOL still has some usefulness in third and second world countries, but then the A in AOL would be pointless and, really, it’s just going to make America look bad.

Come on AOL. Remember when people used to think you WERE the Internet? And now even my mom has come to terms with the fact that you’re a pain in the ass and do nothing but take too long. Maybe it will become cool to use AOL again in the retro-kitschy way that people put the guts of a Razr into a Zach Morris cellphone brick or people still write text adventure RPGs to run on DOS, but I severely doubt it.

Then I found this video that echoes those sentiments. I bet this would be funnier if I actually watched (read: liked) “24”, but it’s still pretty hilarious.

The 80’s took about 15 years to be funny. Now the mid 90’s are funny. If this keeps up, in 5 years, six minutes ago will be fraught with hilarity about how stupid things used to be.

http://www.collegehumor.com/moogaloop/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1788161&fullscreen=1

One response

  1. I laughed, I cried, I even wet myself. That video was hilarious! Great blog, keep ’em coming.

    November 17, 2007 at 23:57

Leave a Reply

